To Backup Your Data

ContractorTools automatically backs up your data to our server the first time you sign in to ContractorTools each day. This means that all you need to do to backup your data is to sign out and sign back in again. So it's a good idea to get in the habit of signing out at the end of each day.

To Restore From A Data Backup

You may need to restore your data from a backup. For example, say you accidentally delete (completely) a job that you actually need. Before restoring from a backup, please note the following important points:

  • If you set a job inactive, you do not need to restore from a backup to restore it. To restore a job that you have set inactive, tap "Filter" in the lower right corner of the list of jobs, and turn on "Include Inactive". This will include the inactive job(s) in the list. Select the inactive job, and the program will ask if you want to restore it.

  • If you restore from a backup, any changes made to the data on your device since the time of the last backup, or changes made to the data on any other devices in your company, will be lost.

  • When you restore from a backup, ContractorTools will require all other devices to “reset from cloud data”. This means that, when you run ContractorTools on any other device, it will display a popup saying “Cloud Data Has Been Reset”, and asking if you want to “Reset Local Data from Cloud Data”, or “Merge Local Data with Cloud Data”. You will need to select the option to “Reset Local Data from Cloud Data”. If you select the option to “Merge Local Data with Cloud Data”, that will reinstate all of the changes made to the data since the last backup, so you will be back where you started before restoring from the backup.

How To Restore From A Backup

To restore from a backup, please follow these steps:

  • Go to the main menu (home screen), and tap on Company Settings.

  • Tap on Backups.

  • Tap on Restore from a Backup

A popover screen will appear with a list of dates along the left side, sorted in reverse order (latest first). Each date represents the date when a backup was made, so the date at the top of the list is the date when the last backup was made. If you are OK with restoring the data to the state it was on on that date, then go ahead and tap it to restore from it.

When ContractorTools restores from a backup, it downloads the backup from the server to your device and then replaces your local database with the backup copy. Again, this means that when you restore from a backup, ContractorTools will require all other devices to “reset from cloud data”.

When you run ContractorTools on any other device, it will display a popup saying “Cloud Data Has Been Reset”, and asking if you want to “Reset Local Data from Cloud Data”, or “Merge Local Data with Cloud Data”

Make sure you tap the option to “Reset Local Data from Cloud Data”. If you select the option to “Merge Local Data with Cloud Data”, that will reinstate all of the changes made to the data since the last backup, so you will be back where you started before restoring from the backup.

Did this answer your question?