Occasionally, your ContractorTools connection to QuickBooks will expire, in which case it will be necessary to re-connect to QuickBooks. To do this, you must first disconnect from QuickBooks and then connect again.

Unfortunately this creates a bit of a catch-22 situation because QuickBooks will not allow you to disconnect once the connection authorization has expired. Because of that, it is not possible to disconnect from QuickBooks through ContractorTools, so you must do this within QuickBooks Online. 

Please follow these steps to disconnect ContractorTools from QuickBooks:

  • Sign in to QuickBooks Online.
  • Select the "Apps" option at the bottom of the menu on the left side of the screen.
  • Click on "My Apps" in the menu at the top of the screen.
  • This will display "Manage apps you have already connected" on the screen below. The ContractorTools should appear in this section.
  • Click on "Disconnect" in the ContractorTools box. This will disconnect ContractorTools from QuickBooks

Now, to make sure ContractorTools knows it has been disconnected from QuickBooks, please kill and re-start the ContractorTools app:

iPad/iPhone

  • Double click the home button
  • Locate ContractorTools in the carousel of apps.
  • Swipe it up to stop it.
  • Click the home button again.
  • Tap on the ContractorTools icon to re-start it.

Mac

  • If it is running, go into the ContractorTools app and select ContractorTools > Quit ContractorTools from the menu bar at the top of the screen.
  • Click on the ContractorTools icon on the desktop (or type Cmd-Space and enter "ContractorTools") to re-start it.

Once you have killed and re-started ContractorTools, now re-connect to QuickBooks:

  • In the main menu, select "QuickBooks Sync".
  • Select "Connect with QuickBooks"
  • Follow the steps to sign in to QuickBooks and issue approval for ContractorTools to connect to QuickBooks.

Did this answer your question?